Jump to main content

COVID-19: News and Campus Updates

Margaret Gutierrez

Margaret Gutierrez

Adjunct Faculty, Violin

School of Music
College of Performing and Visual Arts

Contact Information

(970) 351-2352
Frasier 250

Professional/Academic Experience

Violinist Margaret Soper Gutierrez has enjoyed a multi-faceted musical career. She began her professional life in the Washington, DC area, performing as a member of the National Symphony Orchestra and touring extensively with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. Margaret performed regularly as a soloist and chamber musician on concert series at the National Gallery of Art, the Holocaust Memorial Museum and the National Cathedral. She also served as concertmaster of the Washington Bach Consort and the Baltimore Opera Orchestra and performed with the Rochester Philharmonic, the San Antonio Symphony and the Iris Chamber Orchestra.

An avid chamber musician, Margaret was a member of the Maia Quartet, the faculty Quartet-in-Residence at the University of Iowa. During her tenure with the quartet, she taught and performed at both the Interlochen Arts Academy and Summer Camp, the Austin Chamber Music Festival and The Castleman Quartet Program. In addition to her University of Iowa faculty appointment, Margaret has taught at the University of Memphis and the University of Colorado at Boulder. She is currently on the faculty at the University of Northern Colorado where she coaches chamber music and teaches lessons and orchestral repertoire.

In addition to teaching, Margaret performs around the Front Range as a member of the Colorado Chamber Players, Opera Colorado, the Colorado Ballet Orchestra, and the Colorado Bach Ensemble. Margaret received a Bachelor of Music with High Distinction from the Eastman School of Music and a Master of Music from the Cleveland Institute of Music. Her major teachers include Donald Weilerstein, Charles Castleman, David Updegraff and Doris Preucil.


Bartok Romanian Folk Dances (with Alexandra Nguyen, piano at the Off the Hook Contemporary Music Festival)

Allegro non troppo from Brahms String Sextet No.2 in G major with the Colorado Chamber Players (in the CO Public Radio Performance Studio)