The American Socierty of Composers, Authors, and Producers Foundation Announces 2020 Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composers Award Recipients

Professor of Jazz Composition, Drew Zaremba, and students Elliott Turner (MM Jazz Composition) and Zach Rich (DA Jazz Composition) were recognized on February 26, 2020 as 3 of the 20 composers recognized by the ASCAP foundation for their excellence in jazz composition. 

“Jazz is one of our most vital art forms and the recipients of the Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards carry its innovative spirit into the future,” said ASCAP Foundation President, Paul Williams. “We are grateful to the Herb Alpert Foundation for helping us to recognize and encourage these young music creators and congratulate them on their success.”

Through a partnership with the Newport Festival Foundation, one of this year’s Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards recipients will be featured on stage at the 2020 Newport Jazz Festival, slated for August 7- 9 in Newport, RI.

Read the full article