Jump to main content

Rocky Mountain Society for Music Theory

RMSMT is the professional society for music theorists serving the Rocky Mountain region, which covers the U.S. states of Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming, as well as the Canadian provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Conference Information

2018 Conference

Rocky Mountain Music Scholars Conference Website

SEM Conference Website Information - This website also includes information regarding registration and keynote speaker, as well as conference events, locations, and directions.

The Rocky Mountain Society for Music Theory (RMSMT) is pleased to announce its 2018 Annual Meeting, which will be held on Friday, March 23rd and Saturday, March 24th at the University of Arizona in beautiful Tucson. This will be a joint meeting with the Rocky Mountain chapter of the American Musicological Society and the Southwest Chapter of the Society for Ethnomusicology.

Keynote Speaker: John Roeder, University of British Columbia.

We are soliciting proposals on any topic related to music theory or analysis. Presentations are to be twenty (20) minutes in length with ten (10) minutes for discussion. Submissions must be sent electronically and must include the following:

1. A proposal of no more than 500 words, including any footnotes or endnotes. (One mathematical equation may be counted as one word). If desired, a maximum of four (4) additional pages of supplementary materials may be appended (such as musical examples, diagrams, and selected bibliography); these pages will not be counted within the 500-word limit. The proposal must include the title of the paper but exclude the author’s name and any other identifying information. Indeed, since proposals are to be reviewed blind, please do not reveal your identity within the proposal itself – references to the author’s own work must occur in the third person (Note: also ensure that any self-identification is removed from the file name and the Document “Properties” field).
2. A separate abstract of no more than 250 words that is suitable for publication. (All of the same considerations regarding non-disclosure of the author’s identity must be applied).
3. A cover letter (which may be included in the body of the email) containing the following information: title of the proposal, author’s name, author’s address, author’s institutional affiliation (or independent scholar/student status), author’s email address, and any technical or audio-visual requirements.

Please note that only complete submissions will be considered, and that submission implies intent to attend the conference if accepted. Submissions must be received no later than Friday, January 19, 2018. Email all submissions to dbashwin@unm.edu. Any questions may be directed to David Bashwiner at the same address.

There will also be an award for the best student paper presented at the conference. Students who wish to be considered for the Best Student Paper Award (BSPA) must declare their interest in their cover letter. They will then be additionally required to submit an electronic copy of the paper itself—the version to be read at the conference (i.e., not an entire dissertation chapter)—along with any tables, figures, or musical examples by Friday, March 16, 2018 (to the same email address: dbashwin@unm.edu).

Program Committee:
David Bashwiner, Chair (University of New Mexico)
Carissa Reddick (University of Northern Colorado)
Sara Bakker (Utah State University)
Jim Bungert (Rocky Mountain College)
Kristen Wallentinsen (University of Northern Colorado)
Dickie Lee (Colorado State University)
John Muniz (University of Arizona)
Dale Tovar (University of Oregon, winner of last year’s BSPA)

Information about the registration process, hotel accommodations, making a donation to the BSPA, and a special roundtable discussion will be posted shortly.

2017 Conference

The 2017 Regional Music Scholars Conference, a joint meeting of the Rocky Mountain Society for Music Theory, the Rocky Mountain Chapter of the American Musicological Society, and the Southwest Chapter of the Society for Ethnomusicology, was held at the University of Utah April 7–8, 2017. This year's keynote speaker was Michael Klein (Temple University), who gave a talk titled "Bodies in Motion: Musical Affect and the Pleasure of Excess."

View 2017 Conference Schedule

We are pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2017 Best Student Paper Award is Dale Tovar for his paper entitled "Berg's Romantic Rhetoric." Dale is a Master's student in Music Theory at the University of Oregon.

The 2018 Regional Music Scholars Conference will be held at the University of Arizona.

Past Conferences

  • 2016

    2016 Conference Schedule

    2016 Best Student Paper: Jesse Kinne (University of Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music), "Temporalizing the Play of Recognition and Surprise in Boulez' Incises."

  • 2015

    2015 Conference Schedule and Abstracts

    2015 Best Student Paper: Thomas W. Posen (University of New Mexico), "More than a Tritone: A Set Theoretic Analysis of Leonard Bernstein's 'The Rumble' from West Side Story (1957)," and Kristen Wallentinsen (University of Western Ontario), "Fuzzy Family Ties: An Examination of Familial Similarity between Contours of Variable Cardinality."

  • 2014

    2014 Conference Schedule and Abstracts

    2014 Best Student Paper: Scott Schumann, "Distorted Topics in Stravinsky's Violin Concerto, Mvmt. 1 (1931)," and Gabriel Venegas, "Formal Reinterpretation in Schubert's Works for Piano Solo."


Michael Chikinda, President
Assistant Professor, Music Theory, University of Utah
Email: m.chikinda@utah.edu

David Bashwiner, President-Elect
Assistant Professor of Music Theory, University of New Mexico
Email: d.bashwin@unm.edu

Carissa Reddick, Webmaster
Associate Professor of Music Theory, University of Northern Colorado
Email: carissa.reddick@unco.edu